

## **INDIAN METEOROLOGICAL SOCIETY**

C/o IMD, Mausam Bhavan Complex,

Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110 003.

Tel: 011-49967783 Email: imetsociety@gmail.com Website: http://imetsociety.org/

No:-IMS-Election-NC-2024-2026

Dated: 2<sup>nd</sup> March, 2024

## **CIRCULAR-III**

From:- Returning Officer (IMS Election for the term 2024-26)

Dr. G. Suresh, Scientist 'G'
National Center for Seismology
Mausam Bhavan Complex, Lodi Road, New Delhi -110 003

Phone No. 011-24344517, 011, 40067792

Phone No. 011-24344517, 011-49967783

Mobile No: 9873151699

Email: gsureshimd@yahoo.com

To

All Members of Indian Meteorological Society (IMS),

Subject: Election of National Council of Indian Meteorological Society for the term 2024-2026 – List of Contesting Members (REVISED)

- Ref. 1. Election Notice No. IMS-Election-NC-2024-26 dated 07-02-2024.
  - 2. List of Contesting Candidates (Circular no. II) dated 01-03-2024

Dear Members,

With reference to IMS-Election notice cited above, it is to inform that the nomination forms from the following Members have been received, who are willing to contest the elections for various posts of the National Council (NC) of Indian Meteorological Society for the term of 2024-2026. The detailed list of members contesting for various posts is as follows:

Name of the Post & Number of Vacancies	Name & Address of the Member who submitted Nomination Form	IMS Life- Membership No.	Status of Nomination
President (1 Post)	Mr. Anand Kumar Sharma     New Delhi	LM-398	Valid
	2) Dr. Atul Kumar Sahai, Pune	LM-644	Valid
	3) Dr. D R Pattanaik IMD, New Delhi	LM- 992	Valid
	1) Dr. A P Dimri IIG, Mumbai	LM-318	Valid
Vice President (2 Posts)	2) Prof. P. V. S. Raju Amity University, Jaipur	LM-553	Valid
	3) Prof. Rajeev Bhatla BHU, Varanasi	LM- 949	Valid
	4) Ms. Samanti Sarkar IMD, New Delhi	LM-1296	Valid
	5) Dr. N. Subash ICAR, New Delhi.	LM- 1762	Valid
Secretary (1 Post)	Dr. S I Laskar, IMD, New Delhi	LM- 1937	Valid
Joint Secretary (1 Post)	Mr. Sanjay Bist, IMD, New Delhi	LM- 1265	Valid
Treasurer (1 Post)	Dr. Ananda Kumar Das IMD, New Delhi	LM-948	Valid
	1) Dr. M R Ramesh Kumar, Goa	LM- 683	Valid
Council Member (8 Posts)	2) Dr. Pradeep Kumar Thapliyal SAC-ISRO, Ahmedabad	LM- 691	Valid
	3) Shri Sikandar M. Jamadar IMD, Pune	LM-1153	Invalid
	4) Ms. Samanti Sarkar IMD, New Delhi	LM-1296	Invalid
	5) Dr. Kaustav Chakravarty IITM, Pune	LM-1875	Valid
	6) Dr. Atul Kumar Srivastava IITM, Pune	LM- 3000	Valid
	7) Mr. Bipin Kumar IITM, Pune	LM-3069	Valid



8) Prof. Kabir Mohan Sethy Utkal Univ., Bhubaneswar	LM-3101	Valid
9) Dr. Kamasali Nagaraja Bangalore University,	LM-3252	Valid
Bengaluru		
10) Dr. Sanjay Kumar Mehta, SRM Institute of Science & Technology, Chennai.	LM- 3278	Valid
11) Dr. M T Bushair IMD, New Delhi	LM- 3384	Valid
12) Dr. Suresh Ram MoES, New Delhi	LM- 3555	Valid
13) Dr. Amit Bhardwaj IMD, New Delhi	LM- 3616	Valid
14) Dr. Shravan Kumar Muppa IMD, New Delhi	LM- 3677	Valid
15) Ms. Laxmi Pathak IMD, New Delhi	LM- 3732	Valid

All nomination forms received are valid with the exception of two. Sh. Sikander M. Jamadar and Ms. Samanti Sarkar, who have served as Council Members for two consecutive terms (2020-22 and 2022-24; for reference, visit <a href="https://imetsociety.org/wp-content/pdf/docs/others/IMS\_NC\_Termwise.pdf">https://imetsociety.org/wp-content/pdf/docs/others/IMS\_NC\_Termwise.pdf</a>), are ineligible to contest again for the position of Council Member. This decision is based on Article No. 5.3 of the IMS Council Constitution, and Rule-4 on page-3 of the IMS Election Circular dated 07-02-2024 (<a href="https://imetsociety.org/wp-content/pdf/docs/Election/2024/Circular1.pdf">https://imetsociety.org/wp-content/pdf/docs/Election/2024/Circular1.pdf</a>). According to these guidelines, retiring council members, are eligible for re-election only if they have not occupied the same post for more than two consecutive terms. As a result, the nomination forms of Sh. Sikander M. Jamadar and Ms. Samanti Sarkar, for the post of Council Member have been rejected. The remaining nominations have been found to be valid.

If any member listed above decides to withdraw his / her nomination from the election, the withdrawal request must be submitted to the undersigned either by email (ims.election2024@gmail.com) or in person on or before 08-03-2024.

Final list of contesting Members shall be notified on IMS website on or before 11-03-2024.

(G. Suresh)
Returning Officer
(IMS Election-NC-2024-2026)

-----X------X